Topic: The Metamorphosis of Audrey Parker

A commission for Nikita, thanks so much for sponsoring my work.

Part 1: How I learned to stop worrying and love the gas.

Day 0

I sat in my cell and thought about how much life can change in such a short period of time.  Just last week I was a respected researcher at a prominent government institution.  I wasn't famous or even well known, but I was happy to do my part on the cutting edge of a new area of science.
            Now…now I was facing the rest of my life in a cage.  How could one mistake, one stupid mistake screw me over so bad?  To make matters worse there wasn't even a single part I can point to and say "whoop, there's my problem."  I was like those ill fated engineers the day Chernobyl went critical, trapped by a series of otherwise not fatal events that culminated in something tragic.
            No, I didn't blow up a power plant.  That would probably have been simpler.  A few million in fines that I could never pay and a prison sentence the radiation would make sure I didn't see the end of.  In a way though, my actions might have had as much environmental impact.
            I and all the others in my small division were researching a new type of gas.  Not the type that goes in your car, this was…something different.  Something otherworldly.  And I mean that literally.  The first time this stuff came on the government’s (literal) radar is when they were tracking objects falling to earth from orbit.  I'm a molecular biologist, not a rocket scientist, so I don't know what sent up the first red flag.  Coming in too fast?  Wrong angle?  Wrong place?  Whatever it was, the government sent out a team to figure out what it was.  Or, knowing the government, who it belong to so they could sue them for safety violations.