Topic: The Escapist!

Part 1: The Magicians

The first time it happened, it was at the mall of all places.

I was still in high school and was working part time selling expensive soaps at a storefront in the mall. It was boring, all perky hellos and can I help yous and gee, whiz this soap sure smells yummy. It was awful. But it was easy and it made sure I always had pocket money. It was also going to, if I was responsible, pay for a nice trip with my friends the summer after I graduated. So every weekend I was there, at the mall, suffering.

The incident took place during my lunch break one day. I was hungry and despite trying to save money, I was too lazy to actually pack a lunch of my parents’ free food. So it meant a trip to the food court for some horrible ten dollar combo of trash food washed down with soda. Throw in some sulky people watching and it was the highlight of my day. I was a bored little teen.

So I made my way to fried food central, but along the way I saw a commotion. In the main gallery of the mall, right next to the food court, was a stage. Which wasn’t exactly unusual: the mall was always trying to draw people in with children’s singers, or kid’s dance recitals, or maybe some kind of raffle. What was a surprise was the crowd; the usual dull mall performance was ignored by everyone who wasn’t young, old, or a proudly smiling parent. This performance, whatever it was, had gathered a mass of shoppers who stood with rapt attention. The crowd was so large it was forcing people to gawk from the second floor balconies. I thought, sure, whatever, this might be worth a quick look.